Saturday!

very happy with my groceries

Today I woke up and walked into Isabelle and Sophie’s room in my pajamas, my hair a mess, and my eyes bleary. We changed into appropriate clothes and walked to the farmer’s market 10 minutes away. I bought a small orange potted flower for Paxtyn’s birthday for .50 euros and a bag of cherries and strawberries for 1.30 euros each. Needless to say, it was a good morning.

fruit picnic!

 

When we got back to the apartment we popped a squat on the ground and ate our treasures. Sophie actually found some monster cherries with 3 of them being attached to the same stem. It was funky. We were enjoying our fruit until an old man came up to us and warned us to wash the fruit before we ate it because of the  amount of chemicals on them. Oops.

 

I took the bus into town today by myself which was both terrifying but exciting. I got off at the wrong stop but I wandered around for a bit and managed to find my way back. I went to interview a business owner about what she thought about the lack of attention in excavating and preserving ancient ruins. It was my first interview in  Greece and it was a little nerve wracking, but it was also good because it helped break that initial awkward seal. She was really nice and accommodating and we talked about our lives a little bit afterwards where I discovered that she was half Greek and half American. It explained how her english was so perfect.

On the way back I took the right bus, but got off at the wrong stop. I ended up getting dropped off 20 minutes from the apartment, in front of the ruins of a white house. It was kind of in the middle of nowhere and the broken part of a window was filled in with the blue of the sea behind it. I plugged in our address into google maps, chose some Flume to play through my earphones and enjoyed a nice walk in the sun. I had bought a peach juice box earlier on and whipped it out because what walk isn’t made better by a juice box?

Later on in the afternoon, after I had gotten back from the apartment, I took a walk and got blisters on my feet because of how flat my sandals were. It also probably wasn’t the best idea to go walking in those sandals but they matched my dress and I’m all about maintaining that solid aesthetic. Walking back to the apartment I found a cute little dog just relaxing on the balcony, enjoying the nice weather. I aspire to reach that sort of relaxation.